Lent- Week 1 Identifying Discontent, Day 1

This devotion is from The Mosaic Bible devotions for Lent. Week 1 is focusing on sin and the beginning of sin with Eve in the Garden of Eden. She was enticed by the devil to be discontent with what God provided. She was tempted with the lust of knowledge to steer her away from God’s presence. This is what I recently experienced in my own life. Satan can lure you away from being with God with the simple thought of wanting to know more. Instead of being with God you are frantically trying to learn more and more, like overeating. Soon you are exhausted and overloaded and without God’s presence. If Satan can entice us out of fellowship with God then he can gain a foothold in our lives to corrupt it further. We need time with God to have peace and to listen for His guidance in our every day life.

Part of the reading for today was in 1 Peter 3:21. This scripture spoke to me. It says, And baptism, which is a figure [of their deliverance], does now also save you [from inward questionings and fears], not by the removing of outward body filth, but by [providing you with] the answer of a good and clear conscience [inward cleanness and peace] before God [ because you are demonstrating what you believe to be yours] through the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Baptism is a demonstration of my inward belief that Jesus is the Son of God and was resurrected, therefore, I should not have any doubts, fears or questions about my salvation in Jesus Christ. Through my baptism I am showing God I believe and in His eyes I am clean and clear in my conscience through Jesus Christ. I am showing God I believe Jesus Christ is my Lord and Savior and because of this fact of belief I should have no fear or worry because Jesus has overcome the world and I belong to Him. I can be at peace and know I am clean by His blood.

Ann Voskamp’s book Trail To The Tree for Lent asks the question that God asked Adam and Eve, Where are you?  After they disobeyed they felt ashamed and hid. We tend to hide from God too, especially when we listen to the lies in our head about how messed up we are. It causes us to withdraw from God but He is asking, Where are you?

What I have learned today is that if I truly believe in Jesus and who He is, I have nothing to fear. Satan can’t touch me and God is waiting for me to come into His presence. Satan is still trying to get us out of God’s presence with his lies in our heads. The negative thoughts separate us from God by our own doing like when Adam and Eve hid in the trees. God is saying, where are you? Like when a child does something wrong and knows it so he hides from his mom, afraid of what she will do. But she is looking  all around for him wondering where he is and wanting to find him, she loves him. The broken vase, or stain on the carpet is nothing compared to her love for her child. So it is with God, He loves us and wants time with us. It’s okay, the mess that we are, just go to God and He will be waiting with open arms. We can relax and enter God’s rest knowing who we are in Christ. Jesus didn’t cover our sins, He washed them away and He makes us clean on the inside. The washing of the Gospel makes my heart clean. I believe Jesus Christ died for my sins and rose again and is seated at the right hand of God making intercession for me.

c7a6bab1a09f37b6fb78bca24c97a543

 

Leave a Reply

