No Pay Back

How often do we really give without wanting something in return. I want to share a story about my father-in-law that has touched me and I hope it does the same for you. My hope is that you will see how your actions do make a difference in your little world. That you can really leave a good legacy if you just give yourself away. First I want to tell you that my father-in-law passed May 15, 2009.  He left many lessons for my husband to live by and that is what this story is about. I will refer to my father-in-law as dad.

When dad was here he was always making sure his kids had everything that they needed. Even after we were married and in our own homes he would come and make sure we had gas, food and money. He was a very giving person. He never concerned himself with material things for himself, only what we all needed. My husband recalls many times (so do I) when dad would come by or they would be in the car and he would pull out his money and say you need something? Here take this, he would peel off a twenty and hand it to us. My husband would say, ” Dad I’ll pay you back, thanks.” Dad said,” No son, I give to you so one day you will be able to give to your kids. You will be paying me back by helping them.” The impact of these words were felt today when my husband was in the car with our daughter. She wanted twenty dollars for something. They had gone to the ATM to get some money and when he got in the car and peeled off a twenty to give her, he saw dad in his mind giving him a twenty and started to cry.

He told me he felt like dad today, giving her the money. So you see what paying it forward really means? Give to others so they can give to others and so on. This is the legacy I hope I leave! This is making a difference in the lives of our loved ones. Give yourself away, it’s a beautiful thing!

The weird thing is when they were on the couch looking at what she bought with the money, I thought to myself how he gave her money to buy something she wanted so they could then sit together and let her share her joy with him. He gave her money, she gave him fulfillment in his heart to see her happy. His dad would be proud!

 

Leave a Reply

